Richard J. Scott Award


Richard J. Scott original.jpg

The Richard J. Scott Award is presented annually by the Law Society of Manitoba to an individual who advances the rule of law through advocacy, litigation, teaching, research or writing. Activities that support an independent judiciary, an independent legal profession, access to legal services, access to justice, and public interest advocacy are all eligible.

The award honours former Chief Justice Richard Scott,  who served as Manitoba’s Chief Justice for over 20 years and is a Past President of the Law Society of Manitoba.  The award is
presented in conjunction with the annual Pitblado Lectures in November of each year.  The Honourable Mr. Scott will serves as Chair of the Selection Committee.


Past Recipients Include:

Irene Hamilton (2014)

Allan Fineblit (2015)

Jeff Hirsch (2016)

John Myers (2017)