Richard J. Scott Award

Call for Nominations


The Richard J. Scott Award is presented annually by the Law Society of Manitoba to an individual who advances the rule of law through advocacy, litigation, teaching, research or writing. Activities that support an independent judiciary, an independent legal profession, access to legal services, access to justice, and public interest advocacy are all eligible.

The award honours former Chief Justice Richard Scott,  who served as Manitoba’s Chief Justice for over 20 years and is a Past President of the Law Society of Manitoba.  The award is
presented in conjunction with the annual Pitblado Lectures in November of each year.  The Honourable Mr. Scott will serve as Chair of the Selection Committee.  

The deadline for nominations is September 1, 2017.

Nominations can be sent to:

Chief Executive Officer
The Law Society of Manitoba
219 Kennedy Street
Winnipeg, MB   R3C 1S8
 by e-mail to Pat Bourbonnais

Nominations should be accompanied by the nominee’s c.v. and an explanation as to why the nominee deserves this award.  

For more information, contact Kris Dangerfield at 204-926-2013 or by e-mail at